In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox #15: Late 2020 & Early Winter 2021 Releases

Welcome back to Reading, Reading, Reading!

Over the past two days, I celebrated finishing my first semester of University (as an English Major… more on that later!), and celebrated SEVEN YEARS of Reading, Reading, Reading! Whether you have been reading my posts starting in 2013, or starting today, I am so incredibly thankful for you! My life has changed so much since I started this little blog, and I could not be more thankful for everyone who reads my posts!

Over the past few months, I have received quite a few books from a few different publishers, which have come out just recently or are scheduled to be released in the coming months! I always enjoying share new releases with you, which is why I love to both make and read these kinds of posts!

A quick disclaimer: This is in no way a form of bragging. I truly love sharing the books I receive from publishers, and since I share them periodically on my Bookstagram account, this is a way for my blog readers to see them all featured in one spot. Additionally, if you cannot afford to purchase new releases, or can only access books from your local library, you are just as important in this book community as someone who can afford such luxuries! Buying new books does not make you any “more” or “less” of a reader!

The first pile of books I am featuring all came from Hachette Book Group Canada, including one of my most anticipated releases of 2021, None Shall Sleep by Ellie Marney! This book has received some insanely amazing praise recently (the Goodreads reviews for it are STELLAR), and I plan on reading it very soon!

The second book I received from HBG Canada was A Tale of Witchcraft by Chris Colfer. As many of you know, Chris Colfer’s first middle grade series, The Land of Stories, is one of my favourite series of all time! His newest series is a spin-off of that series, and includes new characters and new adventures! I cannot wait to read this second instalment!

The first book I received from HBG Canada was Horrid by Katrina Leno. I have read a handful of Katrina Leno’s previous releases over the course of the last few years, and have enjoyed most of them, so I hope I enjoy this one just as much!

The fourth book I received from HBG Canada was The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I have been seeing this book pop-up everywhere on Bookstagram and BookTube, so I plan on reading it quite soon to find out if it is worth the hype!

The final book I received from HBG Canada was very unlike the books I usually receive, but I am incredibly excited for it! Accidentally Wes Anderson by Wally Koval is a “coffee-table book”, featuring hundreds of photographs that all look like they come from Wes Anderson films! I skimmed this book when it first arrived in the mail, and I am so excited to take a closer look at all of the beautiful photos! Thanks to HBG Canada for all of those incredibly new releases!

One of my biggest bookish goals of 2021 is to read more contemporary/literary fiction novels, as that is the genre I have enjoyed reading from the most this year! Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a contemporary novel featuring some very interesting literary themes, and I am really looking forward to reading it! This book was released in Australia this year, and is set to release in North America on February 9, 2021! Thanks to Harper Collins Canada for sending me an ARC!

These last four books were all graciously sent to me from Simon and Schuster Canada! The first book I received from them was Yolk by Mark H.K. Choi. Choi wrote both Emergency Contact and Permanent Record, two incredibly well-know YA contemporary novels, and this is her third YA release! I have not read her previous novels, but am looking forward to reading this one nonetheless! This book is a tale of two sisters, which already intrigues me more than her other two novels!

The second book I received from S&SC was Milk Fed by Melissa Broder. All I know is that the two main characters in this book are Jewish women, which places this book near the top of my TBR pile (I rarely see any overt Jewish repersentation in Adult literarture)! I truly cannot wait to read it!

The third book I received from S&SC was Other People’s Children by R.J. Hoffmann. To be honest, I remember next to nothing about the synopsis of this book, but am still very intrigued by the title and cover! Another book I will be adding to my growing list of literary fiction to read in 2021!

The final book I received from S&SC was Good Eggs by Rebecca Hardiman. While the cover of this book is beautiful, what really hooked me in was the first sentence of the synopsis “perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over” – two books I loved! I am really looking forward to this novel, and hope to read it before it releases on March 2, 2021!

Those are all of the books that showed up in my mailbox over the past few months! Again, I would like to extend a huge thank you to Hachette Book Group Canada, Harper Collins Canada, and Simon and Schuster Canada for these new books! I cannot wait to read and review them for you!

Good Night Book Owls!

One thought on “In My Mailbox #15: Late 2020 & Early Winter 2021 Releases

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s